[Editor’s Note:  I write a monthly review.  This is/was October 2011.  If you’ve arrived here from The Paradise Post, welcome!  Just click here to read the full article The Magic of Hypnotherapy.]

Strong rains have pummeled the earth several nights in a row now.  The rainy season has arrived.

Just as the seasons change, so do we.

When it comes to change, I’ve been reminded how it often involves these five stages of grief defined by Elizabeth Kubler-Ross:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

It’s now understood that these five stages may be relevant not only in the process of dying, but in many different types of life transitions.  Especially ones that occur with a jerk.  The stages do not neatly occur in a linear fashion.  Some stages may be skipped.  And not everyone undergoes them.

But I have.  And I’ve found the denial stage especially tricky.  By its very definition, you don’t realize you are even in denial.  And it can get all mixed up with bargaining.  Until a sharp needle pricks the bubble, allowing clarity to emerge.

But it could be anger instead of clarity that pops out, which has its own challenges.  There’s the danger of turning it on yourself or projecting it outwardly.   Neither of which leads to happiness for one’s self or others.

Read More